You are here: Home > LIBRARY > Why is it called Turkish coffee?
Turkish coffee was first developed in the Ottoman Empire at the Top Kapi Palace in Istanbul. Until than coffee beans were boiled for several hours and served. In the palace coffee was refined by first roasting and than pulverizing the beans in flour mills. Typically, the best chefs from all over the empire would work at the palace and they were encourage to experiment and compete. There were 40 chefs/baristas in the palace just for making Turkish coffee. As the public heard about the drink it spread all over the city and than the empire; eventually the world.

Here are the 35 countries of today that were under the Ottoman Empire:

Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Belarus, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Egypt, Eritrea, Greece, Georgia, Hungary, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Libya, Macedonia, Montenegro, Oman, Palestine (West Bank & Gaza), Qatar, Romania, Serbia, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Syria, Sudan, Tunisia, Turkey, UAE, Ukraine, Yemen.

Ottoman Empire (1299 - 1914)